DC Film Critics Shine ‘Spotlight’ on Award Winners; Full List!

7 Dec 2015 | Author: | No comments yet »

‘Spotlight’ named best picture of the year by Boston Society of Film Critics.

The high-octane Mad Max: Fury Road might have driven off with the most awards, but it was Spotlight that was named movie of the year by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association. Fassbender, 38, won for his portrayal of Apple co-founder Steve Jobs in Danny Boyle’s movie while veteran actress Rampling, 69, was honored for 45 Years. The critics on Sunday announced Charlotte Rampling as Best Actress for “45 Years”, while “Love & Mercy” star Paul Dano and “The Revenant” actor Leonardo DiCaprio tied as winners in the Best Actor category, reports hollywoodreporter.com. The bigger surprise was that “Black Mass,” another major studio release with strong Boston ties, received nary a shout-out from the group at the Brattle Theatre in Cambridge (sitting near those tallying the votes, I believe I heard one vote on one ballot for Johnny Depp’s acclaimed depiction of Boston’s own James “Whitey” Bulger). The film about The Boston Globe’s investigation of the Catholic Archdiocese’s pedophile priest coverup also nabbed an award for Josh Singer and director Tom McCarthy’s Screenplay.

Actors Kristen Stewart and Mark Rylance received the Best Supporting Actress and Actor nods for their roles in ‘Clouds of Sils Maria’ and ‘Bridge of Spies’ respectively and Marielle Heller was named Best New Filmmaker for ‘The Diary of a Teenage Girl’. The motorized dystopian fantasy “Mad Max: Fury Road” took the most prizes from the local critics group, winning Best Director (George Miller), Cinematography (John Seale) and Production Design (Colin Gibson), as well as the runner-up slots for Best Picture and Film Editing.

While it’s still early in the 2015 awards season, there’s so far been no clear front-runner for Oscar glory in the gongs handed out so far although the field of potential nominees is clearly being narrowed. There was no clear favourite this year, and LAFCA honoured a vast variety of some of the year’s best films further reinforcing the narrative that the Oscar race is still fairly undefined. Todd Haynes won best director for “Carol.” Most notably, frequent Academy Award nominee Leonardo DiCaprio of the gripping 19th century survivalist drama “The Revenant,” a film directed by last year’s best director Oscar winner Alejandro G.

LAFCA’s Best Actor award went to Michael Fassbender for his title role as Apple icon “Steve Jobs.” Charlotte Rampling took Best Actress honors for her part in the marital drama “45 Years.” Michael Shannon’s scathing “99 Homes” portrayal of a real estate schemer won Best Supporting Actor. Inarritu (“Birdman”), tied with Paul Dano of the excellent Brian Wilson biopic “Love & Money” for best actor in spite of the fact that only about half the voting members were able to attend the single, last-minute screening of “The Revenant” for awards consideration. In the coming week, the Screen Actors Guild will announce its award nominees on Wednesday, while the Hollywood Foreign Press will announce its 2015 Golden Globe nominees on Thursday.

But the dystopian rager, which the National Board of Review chose as their best film earlier this week, only took second place to Tom McCarthy’s Spotlight when it came to best film. Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson’s dark animated film Anomalisa also got multiple awards, including best animated film and best music/score for composer Carter Burwell, who was also recognised for Carol. Coates, whose credits range from “Lawrence of Arabia” to “Fifty Shades of Grey,” was designated this year’s Career Achievement award winner in October.

Forty-three members of the critics group – which is comprised of print, radio and online movie reviewers based in Southern California – attended Sunday’s awards voting in Cheviot Hills. Other runners-up this year include “Carol” director Todd Haynes, cinematographer Ed Lachman and production designer Judy Becker; “Son of Saul” lead actor Géza Röhrig; “Brooklyn” lead actress Saoirse Ronan; supporting actress Kristen Stewart (“Clouds of Sils Maria”); supporting actor Mark Rylance (“Bridge of Spies”); composer Ennio Morricone (“The Hateful Eight”); and Kaufman for his “Anomalisa” screenplay. Among second-placing films were “Inside Out” (animation), “The Look of Silence” (documentary) and “The Tribe,” a movie told entirely in Ukrainian Sign Language (foreign).

Here you can write a commentary on the recording "DC Film Critics Shine ‘Spotlight’ on Award Winners; Full List!".

* Required fields
All the reviews are moderated.
Our partners
Follow us
Contact us
Our contacts

About this site