Coen brothers to chair Cannes Film Festival jury

20 Jan 2015 | Author: | No comments yet »

Coen Brothers to Preside Over Cannes Film Festival Jury.

In a statement Tuesday, the festival said the nomination of the men who made “Raising Arizona,” “Fargo” and “Barton Fink” — which won the prestigious Palme d’Or — is part of its celebration of all “cinema brothers.” Joel and Ethan Coen, known for making such films as 2013’s “Inside Llewyn Davis” and 1998’s “The Big Lebowski,” will reportedly be the jury presidents for the 2015 Cannes Film Festival.“Presiding over the Jury is a special honour [sic], since we have never heretofore been president of anything,”the filmmaker brothers said in a tongue-in-cheek statement. “We will issue further proclamations at the appropriate time.” The brothers will be the first duo to serve as co-presidents of the jury, according to the New York Times. The Coens won the festival’s top Palme d’Or prize in 1991 for their movie Barton Fink, and best director prizes for Fargo in 1996 and The Man Who Wasn’t There in 2001. Other movies of theirs, such as “Fargo” (which also took the Best Original Screenplay prize) and “A Serious Man,” have been nominated for Best Picture.

Here you can write a commentary on the recording "Coen brothers to chair Cannes Film Festival jury".

* Required fields
All the reviews are moderated.
Our partners
Follow us
Contact us
Our contacts

About this site